Wednesday, October 28, 2009

ELI Webinar: Using Electronic Course Portfolios to Support the Scholarship of Teaching (2009.11.09)
If your institution is a member of the Educause Learning Initiative (ELI), you might be interested in signing up for this web seminar:

Bridgett Piernik-Yoder
Bridgett Piernik-Yoder
Assistant Professor
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

Topic: Using Electronic Course Portfolios to Support the Scholarship of Teaching
Date: November 9, 2009
Time: 1:00 p.m. EDT (12:00 p.m. CDT, 11:00 a.m. MDT, 10:00 a.m. PDT)
International participants: You may wish to visit this external time-conversion website to calculate the event's start time in your time zone.
Duration: 1 hour

Malcolm Brown, director of the EDUCAUSE Learning Initiative, moderates this web seminar with Bridgett Piernik-Yoder. As discourse regarding the evaluation of teaching has evolved, an established definition of the standards of scholarship of teaching has emerged. In adhering to these standards, it becomes imperative to document teaching practices and investigate methods that support the examination and sharing of teaching practices. Whereas the concept of scholarship of teaching has been defined, little information is available regarding specific tools and processes to support scholarship of teaching.

The purpose of this presentation is to illustrate how course portfolios are one effective tool in documenting teaching practices to support reflective technique and invite peer review. The use of an electronic course portfolio as a flexible tool to support scholarship of teaching will be highlighted. Additionally, the challenges and benefits of developing electronic course portfolios will be presented, as well as suggestions to facilitate the development process.

This free seminar is an exclusive benefit for ELI member organizations—you and any others at your institution are invited to attend. Virtual seating is limited, however, and registration is required. REGISTER NOW.

No comments:

Post a Comment